Swipe City, Trick: Tips to a Successful Life on Tinder

Remember when folks would approach random attractive people in public places and spark up a conversation? Well, those moments are scarce in this digital age. Now, you can shop for groceries online, shop for clothing online, and my personal favorite, shop for significant others online.

You may be the type of person that isn’t terribly fond of the online dating craze. To be honest, neither am I. However, apps like Tinder and OkCupid sure do make shopping fun!

I stumbled along Tinder after friends of mine told me to try OKC. They’ve been on dates and have made friends from the app, so when I felt I should find some new friends (I had moved to a new area), I decided to see what this sketchy app was all about.Online Dating Memes That Will Make You Happy You're Single

 

OKC was fun for a week. It was too date-y and too creepy for my liking (OMG, a dating app that’s”date-y”…how weird) so I deleted my profile. I then moved on to Coffee Meets Bagel, another dating app with a twist. CMB matches you with a potential “dater” every day at noon. That’s one person a day! If you’re interested, you’ll accept it but if they’re not interested… Sucks for you!

Online Dating Memes That Will Make You Happy You're Single

I like actual bagels.  It wasn’t working out.  Delete.

Then I downloaded Tinder.

The app is simple. Whatever interests you have (age range, gender), Tinder searches for others on the app that match your qualifications.

Here comes the fun part!

If you find them interesting, swipe right, of not, swipe left! If you both swiped right, it’s a match!  I could spend an hour swiping just to see how many matches I get.

It’s like shopping, but for humans! Yes, I realize that the app is superficially based and many people use it for quick hook ups but so what?

What’s terrible is that I honestly don’t want to meet any of these people. It’s just a game. Sometimes I will message a match just to see if they would respond to one of my insanely awkward icebreakers or the really strange things I say. I’ve got a 50% success rate. It’s hilarious.

To all of those people taking the app seriously, good for you! To everyone else….YOLO!

Check out PART 2 of this article for Tips for a Successful Life in Tinder for some grand advice to make an uber successful online dating profile!!

Leave a comment